top of page

Which is the better image?

Indecisiveness plagues me when it come to deciding on the "best" image. There are those times I get paralyzed and just have to make a decision on a gut feeling. Other times however I prefer an image one day only to revise and see that I actually prefer another.

The two images in this post have me twisted like a hot, salted pretzel. These images were both captured on a flight over the Okavango Delta in Botswana just a few minutes apart. Below each image I discuss what I like in each of them, but I would love you to share your opinions with me too.

First, what I enjoy about this image is the diagonal horizon. Something about this creates a dynamism that is appealing because it captures the feeling of being in the plane. The second characteristic I enjoy is the trees' long shadows which create converging lines that get closer at the horizon, adding a mysterious depth into the image, reminiscent of a time warp or space travel from old sci-fi movies.

In the complete opposite way of the previous image, I like that I CAN'T see the horizon. This "birds eye view" perspective is alien to the human eye. Our eye-sight has evolved to have depth perspective in direct relation to the horizon and by excluding the horizon in this image, we get almost an other-worldly, alien view. This was attempt captured an uneasiness and a mood of potential hazard; the way I was feeling as the plane banked sharply.

There you go. Let me know what you think if you have minute. Also if you have examples of your own, or ways you decide on image please don't keep them to your self and share.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page